ACCA Uganda and Deloitte launch the second edition of the Chief Finance Officer (CFO) Awards 2018, themed “Finance in a Digital World”.

This follows the huge success that the inaugural CFO Awards registered last year with six winners from a highly competitive process where Uganda Breweries Limited’s Alvin Mbugua walked away with the coveted CFO of the Year Award and NSSF’s Patrick Ayota was the 1st runners up for CFO of the Year Award. Both have moved on to bigger things inform of career growth with Mr. Mbugua now the Head of Sales, East African Breweries and Mr. Ayota as the Deputy Managing Director, NSSF.

The awards this year have been increased from five to eight to carter for the unique attributes of the different sectors. The eight awards are CFO of the year, Young CFO Award, Public Sector Award, Strategy Execution Award, Finance Transformation Award, SME Award, Not for Profit Award and Finance and Technology Award.

Today, we are opening up for nominations for the CFO Awards 2018, beginning 16 August 2018 to 16 September 2018 across the eight categories. Nominations should be via the link,

Anyone is encouraged to nominate a CFO/Finance Director/Head of Finance function that they feel meets the criteria and self-nomination is also allowed.

All winners shall have to demonstrate proficiency in the seven vital qualities (called the seven quotients in the ACCA report of Professional Accountants – The Future or the seven skills for success in the ACCA competency Framework) found at,

These quotients or skills are intelligence, creativity, digital knowledge, emotional intelligence, experience, vision, and technical and ethical skills.

Speaking at the Launch, Beatrice Isagayite, the Head of ACCA Uganda said the CFO Awards provide a recognition platform for leaders of the finance function and draw attention to the required professional skills that should be adopted and demonstrated by leaders that will meet the needs of a rapidly changing business and economic landscape.

“At Deloitte, we have seen firsthand how the pressure and burden of the CFO role can seem overwhelming for those aspiring to the role. The Deloitte CFO Programme has been designed to help new and aspiring CFOs navigate the next steps of their careers, prepare them for the diverse responsibilities they will face in the CFO role and help them transition successfully,” Norbert Kagoro, the Managing Partner, Deloitte said.

He said, the roles and responsibilities of today’s CFOs and senior finance leaders are more varied and challenging than ever.

The CFO Award 2018 Categories

The CFO awards were established in recognition of the fact that the finance function and the CFO’s role is pivotal in building sustainable business models which ultimately  translate into value for the investors.

CFO of the Year

The CFO of the Year will have shown financial leadership, outstanding performance over a number of years and is the driving force behind the growth and profitability of their organization, striving for excellence in all aspects of the finance profession. The CFO/ Head of Finance should lead by example demonstrating leadership through their future-focus and proficiency in the seven vital qualities of professional accountants. 

Public Sector Award

This should be a CFO or Head of Finance in a government ministry, agency or department demonstrating outstanding financial management and has demonstrated the vital qualities of professional accountants.

Not-for-Profit Award

This award will go to an outstanding CFO or Head of Finance, currently making a vital contribution to the financial leadership of a not-for-profit organisation and has demonstrated the 7 vital qualities of professional accountants.

SME Award

This award will recognize a CFO or Head of Finance in a small and medium enterprise, who has demonstrated outstanding financial management and has contributed to the growth of the enterprise. Small and medium enterprises include all types of formal enterprises irrespective of their legal form (such as family enterprises, sole proprietorships or cooperatives), employing between 5 – 100 employees and total assets not exceeding UGX 360 million.

Young CFO Award  

This award will recognise a rising star in the accounting profession, aged no more than 40 years and has demonstrated the 7 vital qualities of professional accountants.

Finance Transformation

This award recognises a CFO or Head of Finance who has championed transformative solutions in their finance function and has been successful in redefining the role of finance within the organisation.

Strategy Execution Award

This award recognises a CFO or Head of Finance who has shown agility and resilience in dealing with serious and intense changes in the business environment, enabling the business to successfully adapt to new demands and challenges. This CFO or Head of Finance will have shown great leadership in creating the right (financial) conditions to execute the organisation’s strategy.

Finance & Technology Award

The Award recognises a CFO or Head of Finance who has invested in and unlocked technologies that have the power to transform the business and create new value. The CFO or Head of Finance has played a crucial role in designing and executing a successful business-aligned IT strategy and is a steward for technology driven change and develops and shares his or her knowledge and know-how of technology across the business.

For further information about the awards, please contact Charlotte Kukunda at or Rashida Nakayiza at

About ACCA

ACCA (the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) is the global body for professional accountants, offering business-relevant, first-choice qualifications to people of application, ability and ambition around the world who seek a rewarding career in accountancy, finance and management.

ACCA supports its 200,000 members and 486,000 students in 180countries, helping them to develop successful careers in accounting and business, with the skills required by employers. ACCA works through a network of 101 offices and centres and more than 7,200 Approved Employers worldwide, who provide high standards of employee learning and development. Through its public interest remit, ACCA promotes appropriate regulation of accounting and conducts relevant research to ensure accountancy continues to grow in reputation and influence.

ACCA is currently introducing major innovations to its flagship qualification to ensure its members and future members continue to be the most valued, up-to-date and sought-after accountancy professionals globally.
Founded in 1904, ACCA has consistently held unique core values: opportunity, diversity, innovation, integrity and accountability. More information is here:

About Deloitte.

Deloitte legal entity description

Deloitte refers to one or more of Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu Limited, a UK private company limited by guarantee (“DTTL”), its network of member firms, and their related entities. DTTL and each of its member firms are legally separate and independent entities. Please see to learn more about our global network of member firms.